Random Question Thread (FFXI Related)

言語: JP EN DE FR
2010-06-21
New Items
users online
フォーラム » FFXI » General » Random Question thread (FFXI related)
Random Question thread (FFXI related)
First Page 2 3 ... 701 702
Offline
By RadialArcana 2021-05-02 02:32:28  
Cerberus.Dekar said: »
A friend took he and I into Odyssey Sheol - Gaol. After taking us to fight Arebati he passed me leader. For some reason I was able to summon some trusts that I do not have--Ygnas included. I know my friend at least has Ygnas. Is this normal?

I believe this was the fix they added for the lag.

Instead of checking what trusts you have constantly, they give everyone the same list and lock them out when called.
[+]
Offline
Posts: 23
By Gambits 2021-05-03 20:40:01  
Is there a higher level H2H weapon that does pierce damage like Birdbanes?
 Asura.Geriond
Offline
サーバ: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Gerion
Posts: 1817
By Asura.Geriond 2021-05-03 21:53:53  
RadialArcana said: »
Cerberus.Dekar said: »
A friend took he and I into Odyssey Sheol - Gaol. After taking us to fight Arebati he passed me leader. For some reason I was able to summon some trusts that I do not have--Ygnas included. I know my friend at least has Ygnas. Is this normal?

I believe this was the fix they added for the lag.

Instead of checking what trusts you have constantly, they give everyone the same list and lock them out when called.
It was not; you automatically received all non-UC trusts before the update as well.
 Bahamut.Negan
Offline
サーバ: Bahamut
Game: FFXI
user: Negan
Posts: 1042
By Bahamut.Negan 2021-05-03 23:15:31  
Gambits said: »
Is there a higher level H2H weapon that does pierce damage like Birdbanes?
X
[+]
 Asura.Aldolol
Offline
サーバ: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Aldolol
Posts: 65
By Asura.Aldolol 2021-05-06 08:27:25  
If for some reason you were an idiot and throw away a Homiliary by accident is there anyway to retrieve this that isn't item restoration?
Offline
By RadialArcana 2021-05-06 08:46:53  
Just checked, can't send it over from another character on the same account. So you can't quest it on another character and send it over.
Offline
Posts: 384
By Thunderjet 2021-05-07 00:57:20  
i am trying to justify to R15 burtgang so does Burtgang Gives +100 enmity for ur when u attonment, or just what BG wiki says?
 Ragnarok.Martel
Offline
サーバ: Ragnarok
Game: FFXI
Posts: 2565
By Ragnarok.Martel 2021-05-07 01:43:10  
Thunderjet said: »
i am trying to justify to R15 burtgang so does Burtgang Gives +100 enmity for ur when u attonment, or just what BG wiki says?
The augment is actually fTP+1 on Atonement's enmity modifier. So the bonus is separate from enmity+ gear.

It effectively turns a 1k TP Atonement into a 3k TP Atonement in terms of enmity generation.
So 300CE/900VE at 1K TP becomes 600CE/1800VE before enmity+ gear. And a 3K TP Atonement goes from 600CE/1800VE to 900CE/2700VE.

It's a very significant gain in enmity generation, and makes Atonement spam a comparable tanking style to spell spam.
[+]
Offline
Posts: 121
By GwenStacy 2021-05-07 09:14:50  
Is there anyway to move the position of your character on the character selection screen (before you enter the game)
Offline
Posts: 1198
By FaeQueenCory 2021-05-07 12:46:11  
GwenStacy said: »
Is there anyway to move the position of your character on the character selection screen (before you enter the game)
I do not believe so. (I'm assuming you're talking about the 16 slots on the character select menu.)
 Asura.Eiryl
Offline
サーバ: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Eiryl
By Asura.Eiryl 2021-05-07 12:49:49  
That'd be a nice QOL thing they could do semi easily. Not super relevant but I've wanted to change their order before too.
Offline
Posts: 121
By GwenStacy 2021-05-07 15:50:13  
yeah i'd just like to keep hitting enter when i'm logging in, i guess the secret is to never log out
[+]
 Shiva.Thorny
Offline
サーバ: Shiva
Game: FFXI
user: Rairin
Posts: 833
By Shiva.Thorny 2021-05-07 18:43:21  
if you delete all your characters, then make a new one, it'll go to the first position

(not any way to change it that i know of, first open slot is always taken, so order gets messed up as soon as you delete a character that wasn't the most recent character made)
 Asura.Eiryl
Offline
サーバ: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Eiryl
By Asura.Eiryl 2021-05-07 18:45:12  
Well yeah, but I don't think that solves their problem.

Could in theory delete all the accounts infront of the "main"and not make new accounts though... depends how important they are.
 Shiva.Thorny
Offline
サーバ: Shiva
Game: FFXI
user: Rairin
Posts: 833
By Shiva.Thorny 2021-05-07 18:48:03  
Can make the new accounts before deleting the old ones, and I believe it'll keep the main in front.
 Asura.Eiryl
Offline
サーバ: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Eiryl
By Asura.Eiryl 2021-05-07 18:55:25  
You would be forever stuck with 15 max, could never make the last one? Would come down to how badly you want that last mule I guess? unless deleting and recalling that character would put it back into slot 16, but seems excessive.

But I would assume the character in slot one, probably has some meaning or they would've went ahead and deleted it already. But just guessing.
 Bahamut.Greyfawkz
Offline
サーバ: Bahamut
Game: FFXI
user: gymj1m
Posts: 363
By Bahamut.Greyfawkz 2021-05-07 22:58:04  
Didn't want to make another thread, but has anyone seen any connection issues today?

I can be in certain zones like Norg, Sauromugue champaign, and a few others.

When I'm in Port Jeuno, I instantly R0 and disconnect.

Tried a tracert, not sure if it's the right IP, but seems like it. (found on some old forums)


Tracing route to ffxi00.pol.com [61.195.48.209]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 10 ms 8 ms 9 ms 10.48.0.1
3 9 ms 9 ms 9 ms 24-220-7-208-static.midco.net [24.220.7.208]
4 20 ms 18 ms 19 ms 24-220-255-71-static.midco.net [24.220.255.71]
5 21 ms 20 ms 19 ms 24-220-14-25-static.midco.net [24.220.14.25]
6 22 ms 20 ms 20 ms ae52.bar3.Minneapolis2.Level3.net [4.15.191.201]
7 150 ms 149 ms 163 ms ae-1-3506.edge3.Tokyo4.Level3.net [4.69.219.222]
8 167 ms 164 ms 165 ms 113.29.12.154
9 * * * Request timed out.
10 * * * Request timed out.
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.

Anyone smart with networking to know what to check, or am I just wasting my time and it's not something I can fix?

-Tried rebooting router
-Changed DNS to google
-Tried logging in via my hotspot, on another PC, and it worked fine.
-Tried checkfiles, and nothing was corrupt/no issues.

Anyone with any insight is appreciated.

Thanks!
Offline
Posts: 8702
By Pantafernando 2021-05-08 05:00:02  
Bahamut.Greyfawkz said: »
-Tried logging in via my hotspot, on another PC, and it worked fine.

Did you mean you could play normally on one machine and not on the other, or are you having that problem regardless of the machine?

Problems with ping could have several reason, first thing to do is to isolate the problem before trying to solve it, instead of trying a dozen of random solution.

First checking for sure is to know if the problem is on your computer or on the SE server. This can be easily done by using different computers and/or different network.

So, try first connecting the game using your default internet. If its no good, try routing your cellphone internet and see if it change something. If you have another computer with the game installed, or another friend thats playing, you can see if you can replicate the problem.

Needless to say, if you can isolate the problem to your computer, you surely can do something to fix it. If regardless of computer or network the problem persist, then its a server problem and there is nothing to do aside waiting.
 Bismarck.Ringoko
Offline
サーバ: Bismarck
Game: FFXI
user: appleboy
By Bismarck.Ringoko 2021-05-09 12:35:23  
Is there a rdm dps spreadsheet somewhere?
 Sylph.Funkworkz
VIP
Offline
サーバ: Sylph
Game: FFXI
user: Funkworkz
Posts: 1065
By Sylph.Funkworkz 2021-05-09 13:55:14  
I was having issues this morning. Slow as hell logging in and instant r0 upon being logged in.
 Asura.Sechs
Offline
サーバ: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Akumasama
Posts: 7711
By Asura.Sechs 2021-05-09 14:43:17  
Bismarck.Ringoko said: »
Is there a rdm dps spreadsheet somewhere?
SimonSes is working on one.
Right Simon?
RIIIIIIGHT?

/whip


Jokes aside Boshi has a pre-odyssey Spreadsheet but he went poof.
 Bismarck.Ringoko
Offline
サーバ: Bismarck
Game: FFXI
user: appleboy
By Bismarck.Ringoko 2021-05-09 14:54:55  
Asura.Sechs said: »
Bismarck.Ringoko said: »
Is there a rdm dps spreadsheet somewhere?
SimonSes is working on one.
Right Simon?
RIIIIIIGHT?

/whip


Jokes aside Boshi has a pre-odyssey Spreadsheet but he went poof.

Happen to know where it lives? That's all I need :3 Even an up to date blu spreadsheet would work tbh, since they share so much gear, etc.
Offline
Posts: 2
By Ghazkull 2021-05-11 15:38:19  
Where can I look for a good current Summoner Guide? The one on AH and the ones on bgwiki both look bad. Is there somewhere else to look?
 Shiva.Mutih
Offline
サーバ: Shiva
Game: FFXI
user: mutih
Posts: 3
By Shiva.Mutih 2021-05-11 15:47:32  
Ghazkull said: »
Where can I look for a good current Summoner Guide? The one on AH and the ones on bgwiki both look bad. Is there somewhere else to look?
https://www.ffxiah.com/forum/topic/53593/a-summoners-gear-guide/
Guildwork Premium
Online
Posts: 1125
By Chimerawizard 2021-05-11 22:31:55  
I just got a couple glowy fishing rods yesterday, but they don't actually glow like in other people's pictures.
What did I turn off long ago to cause this?
 Asura.Eiryl
Offline
サーバ: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Eiryl
By Asura.Eiryl 2021-05-11 22:32:57  
Weapon effects
[+]
 Bahamut.Balduran
Offline
サーバ: Bahamut
Game: FFXI
user: balduran
Posts: 133
By Bahamut.Balduran 2021-05-12 03:55:34  
Bahamut.Greyfawkz said: »
-Tried logging in via my hotspot, on another PC, and it worked fine.

As far the traceroute results they look fine, no major packet loss, and no abnormal fluctuations in latency.

If you didn't disconnect while logged via another PC on the same network, then you can most likely rule out network issues. Do you have the same addon on both PCs?

I am curious though why the IP address you resolved to on ffxi00.pol.com was different than mine, and why your traceroute reached a firewall at hop #8 instead of the final destination, like mine did, perhaps someone with some network experience can explain that.

Code
Tracing route to ffxi00.pol.com [124.150.154.122]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.88.1
  2     1 ms     4 ms     5 ms  92.98.10.2
  3     4 ms     2 ms     4 ms  10.246.253.93
  4     4 ms     4 ms     4 ms  195.229.4.106
  5   118 ms   114 ms   114 ms  195.229.0.219
  6   116 ms   114 ms   112 ms  195.229.0.219
  7   154 ms   156 ms   157 ms  210.173.176.26
  8   165 ms   162 ms   163 ms  219.117.144.66
  9   152 ms   156 ms   152 ms  219.117.144.45
 10   165 ms   163 ms   162 ms  219.117.146.129
 11   159 ms   165 ms   155 ms  219.117.146.182
 12   153 ms   156 ms   157 ms  124.150.154.122

Trace complete.
 Sylph.Funkworkz
VIP
Offline
サーバ: Sylph
Game: FFXI
user: Funkworkz
Posts: 1065
By Sylph.Funkworkz 2021-05-12 08:43:51  
I have been having the same issue as Greyfawkz since Saturday/Sunday. From his tracert results, we live near each other and have the same ISP.

I can login and connect, but sometimes i get "no connection" errors in POL with a retry option, which will work eventually. some zones are "dead zones" such as qufim for sure, but norg and port windurst are fine. Port sandoria is intermittent. I r0 for 15 seconds or so, then suddenly I get R500 for a two seconds, then back down to R0. It stayed like this for around 10 minutes and I never disconnected until I terminated the game.

I tried on my main pc and my laptop, same results. I connected to my hotspot with my phone and that allows me to play normally.

I streamed on update night (not in the game), downloaded the update fine with check files, and had 0 packet loss during that stream. At work, comcast business connects fine to the game and i have zero issues.
Offline
By RadialArcana 2021-05-12 09:19:25  
Sounds like a DNS issue (or some other kind of routing problem linked to your ISP), can try using some different ones (dns servers) or just wait till it sorts itself out. Should fix itself in a few days.

I used to get this every now and then with my old ISP, lasted a few days then fixed itself. Haven't had it since I swapped ISP 4-5 years ago.
[+]
Offline
Posts: 121
By GwenStacy 2021-05-12 09:29:24  
https://imgur.com/NtSGMpK

I'm only having this issue with Organizer on SMN when I try to //gs org

any ideas? I checked the lua and that line but nothing came out of the ordinary
First Page 2 3 ... 701 702
Log in to post.