users online
Food 101
First Page 2 3 4 5 6
By zahrah 2011-05-31 16:52:07  
Fairy.Spence said:
zahrah said:

That looks good! Gas or charcoal?

Gas.

I wouldn't call myself a chef, Eik, I'm quite the noob cook.

I'm new at the whole charcoal/wood chips thing. It's just becoming my preference now (even though I always get burned). You just get so much flavor with mesquite and/or pecan chips. Somewhere on this thread earlier we were talking about the cylindrical stacks. If you ever get the urge to try that, I highly recommend it. No lighter fluid.
 Ifrit.Eikechi
サーバ: Ifrit
Game: FFXI
user: Eike
By Ifrit.Eikechi 2011-05-31 16:58:34  
Hey Spence, everybody has to start somewhere.... and its great that so many people are inputting things here :). I think its awesome... I'll probably drop a recipe or two in here now that I've seen this thread... like those cannoli's a took a picture of for Ni, around Thanksgiving of last year lol...
 Fairy.Spence
サーバ: Fairy
user: Spencyono
By Fairy.Spence 2011-05-31 17:07:23  
I like cooking, I just need practice. I think my biggest issue is time management. I'd like everything to finish roughly at the same time or when I need it to.

Cleaning up is another story :/ I make a huge mess
 Ifrit.Eikechi
By Ifrit.Eikechi 2011-05-31 17:11:19  
Being messy isn't the mark of a bad chef lol. I'm a whirlwind when I cook, I just take the time to clean when all is said and done lol..Time management is a big deal though..Knowing general cook times of things helps a ton, so you can get your proteins finished as your veggies/starch (should never eat 2 or more different kinds of starch in one meal...HUGE no no lol) finishes. There are times, when you're not gonna get the timing down perfect, and thats fine. Its all about experimentation with cook times/temps and getting your personal style down.. There is always aluminum foil to cover items that finish before others :).
By Damiyen 2011-05-31 19:52:56  
One of my recipes
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~