users online
フォーラム » FFXI » Jobs » Dark Knight » Drain & Aspir
Drain & Aspir
 Remora.Morphius
サーバ: Remora
Game: FFXI
user: Morphius
By Remora.Morphius 2009-10-23 23:52:01  
That's actually dissapointing, I was fairly sure ifritkillers and the like were right on the magic acc, I have read through many posts with that message, not done yet though. I'm going to go through 60-100 aspir/drain cycles with each tomorrow, however with *equipped* magic acc~~. I will post after I am done, and yup, I'm going to be taking damage for 2.5-4 hours, /cheers.

Thanks for all your work Ent ^^b

Please anyone that has anymore data on this subject post, or submit a link. I still want a little more INT verification. I have a feeling some obscure forum, jap site, or 4 year old BG thread has the information I seek :3
 Odin.Blazza
サーバ: Odin
user: Blazza
By Odin.Blazza 2009-10-24 00:08:45  
Even though that's a very small sample size, I think it rules out INT and MAB as having any factor in potency at all. It doesn't rule INT out as effecting accuracy though, as you're casting on such a low level mob, even 57 INT would be probably more than double that of the mobs.

I think everyone is getting confused with accuracy vs potency though.
Accuracy: decreases the chance of a resist
Potency: increases potential damage

On a scale of 1-10, having 10 accuracy theoretically means that you will go unresisted a lot more, and thus will raise your average damage. However if your potency is 1 giving you an aspir of 50 (for example) when completely unresisted, no amount of accuracy will allow you to aspir for greater than 50, but raising your potency to 10 WILL.

I was always of the impression that dark magic skill is the ONLY thing (skill/stat wise) that effects potency, ie. how much damage it will do completely unresisted. Which even Ent's limited testing confirms.

For these two spells, I think your best bet is skill > macc > haste/fast cast > INT (better safe than sorry eh?).
 Remora.Morphius