Luck Of The Draw: A Corsair's Guide *NEW*

言語: JP EN DE FR
2010-06-21
New Items
users online
フォーラム » FFXI » Jobs » Corsair » Luck of the Draw: A Corsair's Guide *NEW*
Luck of the Draw: A Corsair's Guide *NEW*
First Page 2 3 ... 51 52 53
 Bahamut.Negan
Offline
サーバ: Bahamut
Game: FFXI
user: Negan
Posts: 312
By Bahamut.Negan 2018-03-01 23:13:37  
GREAT job Afania and Arislan! TYVM. Now I don't have to talk to Afania in-game! ;)
[+]
 Quetzalcoatl.Langly
Offline
サーバ: Quetzalcoatl
Game: FFXI
user: Langly
Posts: 564
By Quetzalcoatl.Langly 2018-03-02 01:28:43  
Well done. This joins guides I find to be really thorough and well thought out. Like the BST guide. ;D
[+]
 Leviathan.Eloc
Offline
サーバ: Leviathan
Game: FFXI
user: Eloc
Posts: 33
By Leviathan.Eloc 2018-03-02 04:56:38  
Excellent, excellent guide. Many thanks!
 Asura.Teutates
Offline
サーバ: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Teutates
Posts: 2
By Asura.Teutates 2018-03-02 06:24:49  
Awesome work Pirates!! Many thanks!!
Offline
Posts: 24505
By Ramyrez 2018-03-02 07:36:59  
Very nicely done. Thank you for keeping this going.

That said, admirable as it is, I would say to you as I have said to your predecessors in this endeavor:

This sort of selfless effort -- willingly sacrificing your drinking, gambling, and pillaging time! -- is somewhat unbecoming of a pirate. It is the type of charitable precedent that is dangerous to set/perpetuate!
[+]
Offline
Posts: 6378
By Afania 2018-03-02 08:12:10  
Ramyrez said: »
Very nicely done. Thank you for keeping this going.

That said, admirable as it is, I would say to you as I have said to your predecessors in this endeavor:

This sort of selfless effort -- willingly sacrificing your drinking, gambling, and pillaging time! -- is somewhat unbecoming of a pirate. It is the type of charitable precedent that is dangerous to set/perpetuate!

It's part of my evil plan to train and inspire new pirates to join my growing pirate crew.

More people drinking, gambling and pillaging moarrrre! That's the life of pirates, we work with comrades :)
[+]
 Asura.Fabiano
Offline
サーバ: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Falsetto
Posts: 70
By Asura.Fabiano 2018-03-02 08:41:43  
Awesome guide, inspirational even!

Cant wait to dig in and see how I can fine tune my sets even further
 Leviathan.Kingkitt
Offline
サーバ: Leviathan
Game: FFXI
user: kingkitt
Posts: 327
By Leviathan.Kingkitt 2018-03-02 09:29:37  
AF +3 body is better than Carmine +1 for Leaden?
Offline
Posts: 230
By hobo 2018-03-02 09:35:39  
AF+3 gives 22 more agi and trades the 42 mab for 10wsd, so it wins by a decent margin
 Asura.Brahk
Offline
サーバ: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Brahk
Posts: 28
By Asura.Brahk 2018-03-02 10:04:06  
Amazing guide! Timely as I'm just leveling my alt's COR. One of the best looking guides on AH as well! Great job.
Offline
Posts: 6378
By Afania 2018-03-02 10:35:11  
Leviathan.Kingkitt said: »
AF +3 body is better than Carmine +1 for Leaden?


Yes unless every other slot of your WS set has low or no mab.
 Ragnarok.Camlann
Online
サーバ: Ragnarok
Game: FFXI
By Ragnarok.Camlann 2018-03-02 11:07:54  
What is optimal relation between the different stats (wsd, agi, mab) that boost Leaden?
 Leviathan.Kingkitt
Offline
サーバ: Leviathan
Game: FFXI
user: kingkitt
Posts: 327
By Leviathan.Kingkitt 2018-03-02 12:28:28  
Afania said: »
Leviathan.Kingkitt said: »
AF +3 body is better than Carmine +1 for Leaden?


Yes unless every other slot of your WS set has low or no mab.
Thanks for clarifying! I've never tested myself i just recall carmine +1 being pretty top notch before and it's what i have in my current xml.
 Cerberus.Kylos
Online
サーバ: Cerberus
Game: FFXI
user: Kylos
Posts: 3237
By Cerberus.Kylos 2018-03-02 12:43:12  
Thanks so much to Arislan and Afania for making this guide, I made some tweaks and my Corsair feels stronger already. Wish I could use more of the sets (inventory issues), as well as have more than three capes. Perhaps should put this in the Random Question Thread, but I just want to ask this in case other Corsairs wanted to know.

Consider the following before you answer: 1) I have never, and probably will never use Gearswap, and 2) will likely never have Wardrobe 3&4 unless they're free ..

.. how do I make use of more than 3 mantles? On my DRK I have four, but I have to manually change my equipsets each time I jump on it. However, with my Corsair I've been using scripts (it's the only job I do this with, it was to ensure I didn't lag and shoot my Animikii) and I know you can target mantles in wardrobes by putting "1" or "2" at the end. What if you had two mantles in Inventory? Would it be possible to point to a specific one using scripts? Or is it impossible outside of gearswap? Thanks for any advice.
Offline
Posts: 6378
By Afania 2018-03-02 12:48:46  
Ragnarok.Camlann said: »
What is optimal relation between the different stats (wsd, agi, mab) that boost Leaden?


It's better to check with spreadsheets or use formula.

Cerberus.Kylos said: »
Thanks so much to Arislan and Afania for making this guide, I made some tweaks and my Corsair feels stronger already. Wish I could use more of the sets (inventory issues), as well as have more than three capes. Perhaps should put this in the Random Question Thread, but I just want to ask this in case other Corsairs wanted to know.

Consider the following before you answer: 1) I have never, and probably will never use Gearswap, and 2) will likely never have Wardrobe 3&4 unless they're free ..

.. how do I make use of more than 3 mantles? On my DRK I have four, but I have to manually change my equipsets each time I jump on it. However, with my Corsair I've been using scripts (it's the only job I do this with, it was to ensure I didn't lag and shoot my Animikii) and I know you can target mantles in wardrobes by putting "1" or "2" at the end. What if you had two mantles in Inventory? Would it be possible to point to a specific one using scripts? Or is it impossible outside of gearswap? Thanks for any advice.

1) Put them in wardrobe, sort it so it's nice and organized.
2) Open your equipset and "define" the correct backpiece to swap to in equipset menu.
3) DO NOT ever move the backpiece out of wardrobe after you tell which backpiece is correct to swap again. If you do that you have to do 1) again.

Test it now, it should swap the correct backpiece when you click your equipset macros.
Offline
Posts: 251
By Nocki 2018-03-02 12:54:51  
This is honestly quite good and clean and pretty and yay!
[+]
 Cerberus.Kylos
Online
サーバ: Cerberus
Game: FFXI
user: Kylos
Posts: 3237
By Cerberus.Kylos 2018-03-02 13:00:49  
Afania said: »
Ragnarok.Camlann said: »
What is optimal relation between the different stats (wsd, agi, mab) that boost Leaden?


It's better to check with spreadsheets or use formula.

Cerberus.Kylos said: »
Thanks so much to Arislan and Afania for making this guide, I made some tweaks and my Corsair feels stronger already. Wish I could use more of the sets (inventory issues), as well as have more than three capes. Perhaps should put this in the Random Question Thread, but I just want to ask this in case other Corsairs wanted to know.

Consider the following before you answer: 1) I have never, and probably will never use Gearswap, and 2) will likely never have Wardrobe 3&4 unless they're free ..

.. how do I make use of more than 3 mantles? On my DRK I have four, but I have to manually change my equipsets each time I jump on it. However, with my Corsair I've been using scripts (it's the only job I do this with, it was to ensure I didn't lag and shoot my Animikii) and I know you can target mantles in wardrobes by putting "1" or "2" at the end. What if you had two mantles in Inventory? Would it be possible to point to a specific one using scripts? Or is it impossible outside of gearswap? Thanks for any advice.

1) Put them in wardrobe, sort it so it's nice and organized.
2) Open your equipset and "define" the correct backpiece to swap to in equipset menu.
3) DO NOT ever move the backpiece out of wardrobe after you tell which backpiece is correct to swap again. If you do that you have to do 1) again.

Test it now, it should swap the correct backpiece when you click your equipset macros.

Oh I was hoping to not have to revert my scripts to equipsets at this point, but if it's the only way to do it? Also I didn't know if you put two mantles in a Wardrobe you can permanently fix the right mantles in to macros? I've been having two mantles in my Inventory instead, and manually sorting them out each time I change job.

Edit: So I could technically have 5 mantles for each job, with 2 in each Wardrobe. 6 if I'm willing to manually change equipsets when I switch job. Wish I knew this sooner.
 Ragnarok.Camlann
Online
サーバ: Ragnarok
Game: FFXI
By Ragnarok.Camlann 2018-03-02 13:20:52  
Afania said: »
Ragnarok.Camlann said: »
What is optimal relation between the different stats (wsd, agi, mab) that boost Leaden?


It's better to check with spreadsheets or use formula.

I don't spread sheet. Want a ratio rule to go by.
 Odin.Spoiled
Offline
サーバ: Odin
Game: FFXI
user: Spoiled
Posts: 74
By Odin.Spoiled 2018-03-02 13:26:52  
This is a great guide. Thank you guys so much for making it! Can’t wait to destroy my inventory gearing COR.
[+]
Offline
Posts: 6378
By Afania 2018-03-02 13:40:25  
Cerberus.Kylos said: »
Afania said: »
Ragnarok.Camlann said: »
What is optimal relation between the different stats (wsd, agi, mab) that boost Leaden?


It's better to check with spreadsheets or use formula.

Cerberus.Kylos said: »
Thanks so much to Arislan and Afania for making this guide, I made some tweaks and my Corsair feels stronger already. Wish I could use more of the sets (inventory issues), as well as have more than three capes. Perhaps should put this in the Random Question Thread, but I just want to ask this in case other Corsairs wanted to know.

Consider the following before you answer: 1) I have never, and probably will never use Gearswap, and 2) will likely never have Wardrobe 3&4 unless they're free ..

.. how do I make use of more than 3 mantles? On my DRK I have four, but I have to manually change my equipsets each time I jump on it. However, with my Corsair I've been using scripts (it's the only job I do this with, it was to ensure I didn't lag and shoot my Animikii) and I know you can target mantles in wardrobes by putting "1" or "2" at the end. What if you had two mantles in Inventory? Would it be possible to point to a specific one using scripts? Or is it impossible outside of gearswap? Thanks for any advice.

1) Put them in wardrobe, sort it so it's nice and organized.
2) Open your equipset and "define" the correct backpiece to swap to in equipset menu.
3) DO NOT ever move the backpiece out of wardrobe after you tell which backpiece is correct to swap again. If you do that you have to do 1) again.

Test it now, it should swap the correct backpiece when you click your equipset macros.

Oh I was hoping to not have to revert my scripts to equipsets at this point, but if it's the only way to do it? Also I didn't know if you put two mantles in a Wardrobe you can permanently fix the right mantles in to macros? I've been having two mantles in my Inventory instead, and manually sorting them out each time I change job.

Edit: So I could technically have 5 mantles for each job, with 2 in each Wardrobe. 6 if I'm willing to manually change equipsets when I switch job. Wish I knew this sooner.

You should be able to have as many mantles per wardrobe.


Ragnarok.Camlann said: »
Afania said: »
Ragnarok.Camlann said: »
What is optimal relation between the different stats (wsd, agi, mab) that boost Leaden?


It's better to check with spreadsheets or use formula.

I don't spread sheet. Want a ratio rule to go by.

Unfortunately there are no static ratio rule to go by for this(or any FFXI DPS gearing anyways)
[+]
 Cerberus.Kylos
Online
サーバ: Cerberus
Game: FFXI
user: Kylos
Posts: 3237
By Cerberus.Kylos 2018-03-02 13:42:44  
It works the same if you have 3 or 4 mantles in the same wardrobe? I'm going to have to rethink what I spend my points on for the next couple of months.
 Asura.Dodu
Offline
サーバ: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Tsuko
Posts: 7
By Asura.Dodu 2018-03-02 14:04:06  
Obligatory if you're going to have to spend any amount of time adjusting something to accommodate this change, it would probably take a very similar amount of time to rip someone's GS and tailor it to your equipment

For reference, I made a very functional, simple GS for my COR in under ten minutes
Offline
Posts: 994
By Boshi 2018-03-02 14:07:32  
/clap

should add a note:
please use jeanpaul's status icon mod so you can tell your roll icons apart.
[+]
 Cerberus.Kylos
Online
サーバ: Cerberus
Game: FFXI
user: Kylos
Posts: 3237
By Cerberus.Kylos 2018-03-02 14:21:25  
Asura.Dodu said: »
Obligatory if you're going to have to spend any amount of time adjusting something to accommodate this change, it would probably take a very similar amount of time to rip someone's GS and tailor it to your equipment

For reference, I made a very functional, simple GS for my COR in under ten minutes

Nope, not learning all that. Tried it .. gave up. Tried again, gave up. I do fine without thanks.
Offline
Posts: 994
By Boshi 2018-03-02 14:26:50  
If you're really deadset against not using gearswap.

You have to put your mantles into a wardrobe. Doesn't matter which one it is or if they're all in the same.
Once you select that mantle and put it in an equipset the game will remember it.
If you ever move that mantle to a -different- box (case, inventory, ward1/ward2) ect you have to reset it in that equipset.


you can have them in your inventory, but you'll have to reclick them into their spot in your equipsets every single time you move them out of the inventory box.
[+]
 Cerberus.Kylos
Online
サーバ: Cerberus
Game: FFXI
user: Kylos
Posts: 3237
By Cerberus.Kylos 2018-03-02 14:33:08  
Boshi said: »
If you're really deadset against not using gearswap.

You have to put your mantles into a wardrobe. Doesn't matter which one it is or if they're all in the same.
Once you select that mantle and put it in an equipset the game will remember it.
If you ever move that mantle to a -different- box (case, inventory, ward1/ward2) ect you have to reset it in that equipset.


you can have them in your inventory, but you'll have to reclick them into their spot in your equipsets every single time you move them out of the inventory box.

Yeah Afania kindly already explained this to me, and I replied above by saying that this means I'm going to have rethink and make some new mantles for all my jobs. Thanks anyways. I'm not sure how many times I have to say this but .. no to gearswap, no, no no. I've tried again, and again, and again, but no. I'm only saying this because I get the same thing every time I bring it up, and it never ends. Don't mean to come across as rude.
 Leviathan.Celebrindal
Offline
サーバ: Leviathan
Game: FFXI
Posts: 1459
By Leviathan.Celebrindal 2018-03-02 14:43:51  
Just wanted to drop a line saying how lovely this new guide is. Nice layout, comfortable language, visually pleasing.... haven't even commented on the quality of the information.

Bravo.
Offline
Posts: 994
By Boshi 2018-03-02 14:45:00  
small fix on leaden set
carmine hands path b -> d

(eyeballing)
I would argue relic+3 hat is very competitive for Last stand
vs base herc: AGI+16 STR+13 racc+37 ratt+72
vs meg+2: AGI+10 STR+8 racc-11 ratt+43
[+]
 Shiva.Arislan
Offline
サーバ: Shiva
Game: FFXI
user: Arislan
Posts: 787
By Shiva.Arislan 2018-03-02 16:11:33  
Boshi said: »
small fix on leaden set
carmine hands path b -> d

Thanks for catching that good sir, fixed. :)

Boshi said: »
I would argue relic+3 hat is very competitive for Last stand
vs base herc: AGI+16 STR+13 racc+37 ratt+72
vs meg+2: AGI+10 STR+8 racc-11 ratt+43

Also fixed.
 Leviathan.Comeatmebro
Offline
サーバ: Leviathan
Game: FFXI
user: Rairin
Posts: 5648
By Leviathan.Comeatmebro 2018-03-02 17:57:43  
Good work
First Page 2 3 ... 51 52 53
Log in to post.