FFXI Best Setting HD

言語: JP EN DE FR
2010-06-21
New Items
users online
フォーラム » Windower » Support » FFXI Best setting HD
FFXI Best setting HD
 Asura.Devilcrow
Offline
サーバ: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Devilcrow
Posts: 2
By Asura.Devilcrow 2019-05-05 03:22:10  
Hi guys!I would like to ask you what is the best graphic configuration for final fantasy XI.

Windower config and FFXI config.

this is my pc:MSI Pc Desktop Trident 3 VR7RC-298EU Intel Core I5-7400 3 GHz Ram 8GB Hard Disk 1TB SSD 128GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB 5xUSB 3.0 Windows 10 Home

Thanks for the attention!
 Asura.Chaostaru
Offline
サーバ: Asura
Game: FFXI
Posts: 686
By Asura.Chaostaru 2019-05-05 07:16:03  
Best would be running dgvoodoo at 1024mb @ force anisotropic 16x with fps unlocked, with every single HD map .dat installed with all ingame settings maxed. But good luck on asura with what you have. especially the fps unlock.

Not knocking your system just saying that ffxi is so poorly optimized and coupled with a heavily overpopulated server. It just makes everything worse.
 Bahamut.Neb
Offline
サーバ: Bahamut
Game: FFXI
user: Neb
Posts: 148
By Bahamut.Neb 2019-05-05 10:31:47  
Asura.Chaostaru said: »
Best would be running dgvoodoo at 1024mb @ force anisotropic 16x with fps unlocked, with every single HD map .dat installed with all ingame settings maxed. But good luck on asura with what you have. especially the fps unlock.

Not knocking your system just saying that ffxi is so poorly optimized and coupled with a heavily overpopulated server. It just makes everything worse.

I have an I7-7700 and a GTX 1070 and I cant even run at 16X anisotropic with all HD dats at 60 fps I have to run at 8 this game blows for FPS and beauty always has

well I get 60 most of the time but will lag in heavily populated areas or Alliance content
 Asura.Chaostaru
Offline
サーバ: Asura
Game: FFXI
Posts: 686
By Asura.Chaostaru 2019-05-05 10:53:47  
Yeah, and on asura, everywhere is heavily populated xD
 Asura.Elizabet
Offline
サーバ: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Elizabet
Posts: 254
By Asura.Elizabet 2019-05-05 11:44:49  
Bahamut.Neb said: »

I have an I7-7700 and a GTX 1070 and I cant even run at 16X anisotropic with all HD dats at 60 fps I have to run at 8 this game blows for FPS and beauty always has

well I get 60 most of the time but will lag in heavily populated areas or Alliance content

Is that on a laptop? My 1070 laptop running dgvoodoo2 is not struggling at all. The problem that I had with frame drops in town and stuff was due to the parking / power saving on the processor that basically thinks FFXI is too light to warrant more processing power. I.e it's so old it expects processor to run on full.

Going into power settings and changing the details of the plan to make the minimum processor from 0% (default) while plugged to 30% or there about made everything go silky smooth.

I settled on 30% after checking how much FFXI used (22% ish for me) after forcing it to run at 100%.

Tldr: you need to make sure your processor isn't power saving / parking cause FFXI is too old and struggle instead of telling the processor it needs more juice.
 Siren.Kyte
Offline
サーバ: Siren
Game: FFXI
Posts: 2951
By Siren.Kyte 2019-05-05 11:56:28  
My experience with a 970 laptop is pretty similar. ReShade runs fine as well as long as I don't go too crazy with it.
Offline
Posts: 359
By kireek 2019-05-05 12:30:39  
You want mip mapping on, it gets rid of shimmering on textures as you run around. Mip maps are smaller version of each texture pre-rendered and in the dat files so that it swaps between them as you move around instead of just changing the size on the fly.

Mip mapping on = no shimmering.

Super sampling in the windower settings gets rid of jaggies.

Also:

kireek said: »
Posting this cause I recently re-installed and noticed it.

FFXI settings (textures uncompressed)

In the ffxi settings there is a setting for uncompressed textures, the 3 options are high compression, low compression and uncompressed. You want uncompressed active (unless you notice lag ofc).



If you use regedit, it's setting 18 (2 is uncompressed)

https://ffxiclopedia.fandom.com/wiki/Graphics

If you notice pixelated clouds and skybox this is why, it's using compressed sky textures (maybe also light glow textures).

Compressed:



Uncompressed:



This is most noticeable in places like starter cities and jeuno.

This is bugged in some zones and you still get awful skyboxes but not many.

If you're interested in mods, you can try some of these.

https://www.ffxiah.com/forum/topic/51963/ffxi-hd-mods/
 Bahamut.Neb
Offline
サーバ: Bahamut
Game: FFXI
user: Neb
Posts: 148
By Bahamut.Neb 2019-05-05 12:34:59  
Asura.Elizabet said: »
Bahamut.Neb said: »

I have an I7-7700 and a GTX 1070 and I cant even run at 16X anisotropic with all HD dats at 60 fps I have to run at 8 this game blows for FPS and beauty always has

well I get 60 most of the time but will lag in heavily populated areas or Alliance content

Is that on a laptop? My 1070 laptop running dgvoodoo2 is not struggling at all. The problem that I had with frame drops in town and stuff was due to the parking / power saving on the processor that basically thinks FFXI is too light to warrant more processing power. I.e it's so old it expects processor to run on full.

Going into power settings and changing the details of the plan to make the minimum processor from 0% (default) while plugged to 30% or there about made everything go silky smooth.

I settled on 30% after checking how much FFXI used (22% ish for me) after forcing it to run at 100%.

Tldr: you need to make sure your processor isn't power saving / parking cause FFXI is too old and struggle instead of telling the processor it needs more juice.

No im on a desktop ill try some things
 Siren.Kyte
Offline
サーバ: Siren
Game: FFXI
Posts: 2951
By Siren.Kyte 2019-05-05 22:18:15  
If using dgvoodoo, I would actually recommend not using Windower's supersampling option. That can be a major hit to performance with no real visual gain.
 Bahamut.Asphaar
Offline
サーバ: Bahamut
Game: FFXI
Posts: 33
By Bahamut.Asphaar 2019-05-08 12:41:10  
So I tried using dgvoodo on the recommended specs in here. The game runs pretty nicely, but for some reason if I unlock fps to 60, my frames go to ***10-15. I'm using a GTX 1060 with a 7th gen i7. :(
 Bismarck.Nexdeus
Offline
サーバ: Bismarck
Game: FFXI
user: Greyfin
Posts: 471
By Bismarck.Nexdeus 2019-05-08 13:27:03  
Have you tried just using the DX8 to DX9 proxy files instead of the dgvoodoo? That worked better for me running an i7 8700k, and a 1080 Ti.
 Bahamut.Asphaar
Offline
サーバ: Bahamut
Game: FFXI
Posts: 33
By Bahamut.Asphaar 2019-05-08 13:39:38  
Bismarck.Nexdeus said: »
Have you tried just using the DX8 to DX9 proxy files instead of the dgvoodoo? That worked better for me running an i7 8700k, and a 1080 Ti.

Never tried it before, was under the impression that it only supports Ashita. Does it work with Windower?
Log in to post.