Why Does Windwoer Crash If I Unplug My HDMI Cable?

言語: JP EN DE FR
2010-06-21
New Items
users online
フォーラム » Windower » General » Why does windwoer crash if I unplug my HDMI cable?
Why does windwoer crash if I unplug my HDMI cable?
 Fenrir.Brimstonefox
Offline
サーバ: Fenrir
Game: FFXI
user: Brimstone
Posts: 176
By Fenrir.Brimstonefox 2019-04-15 22:00:49  
Anyway to prevent this?

(if it helps this is the simplest quickest way to recreate the problem where my new receiver seems to be doing something after an hr. or so (sleep/screensaver/wallpaper). I've emailed the manufacturer but I'm wondering if there's perhaps a software alternative.
Offline
Posts: 529
By DaneBlood 2019-04-15 22:24:27  
use dgvodoo
 Asura.Cair
VIP
Offline
サーバ: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Minjo
Posts: 239
By Asura.Cair 2019-04-15 22:30:24  
Windower crashes because vanilla FFXI tries to return to POL in an unusual way. Your only solution currently is virtual GFX (like DgVoodoo). Square Enix has previously stated that they don't consider this an issue.
[+]
 Asura.Chaostaru
Online
サーバ: Asura
Game: FFXI
Posts: 588
By Asura.Chaostaru 2019-04-16 00:46:23  
Install dgvoodoo and screen blinking wont crash it.
 Bismarck.Xurion
Offline
サーバ: Bismarck
Game: FFXI
user: Xurion
Posts: 227
By Bismarck.Xurion 2019-04-16 03:23:20  
This will also allow you to run other games at the same time that cause the screen to blink when loading up etc.

Yes I can play multiple games at once!
 Asura.Yojimmbo
Offline
サーバ: Asura
Game: FFXI
user: Yojimmbo
Posts: 1077
By Asura.Yojimmbo 2019-04-16 04:49:13  
Windwoer :D
By Jetackuu 2019-04-16 06:20:41  
Asura.Cair said: »
Windower crashes because vanilla FFXI tries to return to POL in an unusual way. Your only solution currently is virtual GFX (like DgVoodoo). Square Enix has previously stated that they don't consider this an issue.

Isn't this a dx8 issue? or rather "functioning as designed" as the game was designed to crash when losing fullscreen so people wouldn't alt+tab in general and they never "fixed" it even when making a windowed option.

As to the OP: anything that causes you to lose directx fullscreen (unplugging a monitor, UAC, ctrl+alt+del in not ancient windows will all cause it, as said above dgvoodoo is a workaround, just don't put the settings too high or you'll randomly crash your video card driver.

Other options: don't unplug hdmi cable, don't lock pc, don't use ctrl+alt+del (ctrl+shift+esc can bring up task manager directly), put UAC on 2nd lowest setting or lowest (off, some don't recommend).
[+]
 Fenrir.Brimstonefox
Offline
サーバ: Fenrir
Game: FFXI
user: Brimstone
Posts: 176
By Fenrir.Brimstonefox 2019-04-16 06:30:23  
I thought I had installed that I must not have done something correctly, could you please point me to the best set of instructions?
Offline
Posts: 1280
By SimonSes 2019-04-16 06:53:14  
I actually found a solution for turning my monitor off/on and not crashing the game in fully random way. I work from home and use remote desktop. I found out that when you are on full screen on remote desktop, FFXI doesn't crash when turning monitor off and on.
 Fenrir.Brimstonefox
Offline
サーバ: Fenrir
Game: FFXI
user: Brimstone
Posts: 176
By Fenrir.Brimstonefox 2019-04-16 19:53:30  
Well so I followed the instructions here: https://balanceffxi.fandom.com/wiki/DgVoodoo2_%26_Reshade_Setup

And I can't launch the game (pol launches fine).

Then I tried here since that was old:
https://www.twitch.tv/videos/277680802

same problem.

I had reshade working previously
 Fenrir.Skarwind
Offline
サーバ: Fenrir
Game: FFXI
user: Skarwind
Posts: 2844
By Fenrir.Skarwind 2019-04-16 20:18:18  
DGvoodoo fixes your issue (changing displays/running other games in full screen, etc). It also lets you lock your computer/go to the login screen without crashing.
 Fenrir.Brimstonefox
Offline
サーバ: Fenrir
Game: FFXI
user: Brimstone
Posts: 176
By Fenrir.Brimstonefox 2019-04-16 20:28:19  
I can't even launch ffxi with the dll in the pol folder, when I do I see the watermark in pol, but the game itself doesn't launch any ideas?
 Asura.Chaostaru
Online
サーバ: Asura
Game: FFXI
Posts: 588
By Asura.Chaostaru 2019-04-16 21:02:44  
Fenrir.Brimstonefox said: »
I can't even launch ffxi with the dll in the pol folder, when I do I see the watermark in pol, but the game itself doesn't launch any ideas?

follow this guide. but pay close attention to the directions.

YouTube Video Placeholder
 Fenrir.Brimstonefox
Offline
サーバ: Fenrir
Game: FFXI
user: Brimstone
Posts: 176
By Fenrir.Brimstonefox 2019-04-16 21:17:52  
Ok this fixed my problem, not sure what I was doing wrong (maybe running config in wrong directory?)

https://www.ffxiah.com/forum/topic/50992/ffxi-finally-in-high-quality-graphics/18/#3335463

Confirmed it fixes the issue.
Log in to post.